Welsh Language Rights

The Welsh Language (Wales) Measure 2011 established a legal framework to impose a statutory duty on public bodies in Wales to comply with the new Welsh Standards. It recognises that there are two official languages in Wales- Welsh and English. Since the Welsh Language Standards came into force on 1 April 2018, the legislation enables people to live their lives through the medium of Welsh, if they choose to do so. Both languages must be treated equally and the phrase “the Welsh language must not be treated less favourably than the English language” needs to be adhered to at all times.

Making a Complaint

The University of South Wales is committed to complying with the Welsh Language Standards set by the Welsh government and operated by the Welsh Language Commissioner. However, if you feel that the University has not complied with the Standards please visit Making a Complaint